Northern New England Review (NNER) is a literary journal devoted to and inspired by place. We think of place as an idea, an incantation, a pin in a map, a mood, & the vital tension between past & present. NNER is published by Franklin Pierce University as a creative voice for the Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont region. If you live here, are from here, found your heart here, or are currently searching for it among the dappled forests and ghostly coasts, we want to read your words. Our Volume 40 theme, Almanac, will celebrate our fortieth edition—honoring our storied history by gazing forward (& skyward). Send us your star odes, tide tables, thorn(y) sonnets, & moss chronicles. Share your forest reflections, forecasts, & predictions. In our collective digital moment, how much mystery can (& should) remain as we contextualize the past & visualize the future? We like work that is delicately crafted, viscerally felt, & feverishly imaginative. We are a fully inclusive journal, committed to diversity in every aspect of NNER's publication.




Ends on

We publish the most exciting poetry from writers living in (or connected to) northern New England—Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. 

  1. Please submit no more than three poems, not to exceed 60 lines each. 
  2. Up to three poems may be submitted in one submission period. If you are submitting them together, poems must be in a single file/attachment. Please indicate the poem titles in the title field. Please do not send multiple files/attachments with this submission form.  
  3. Submission files that are accepted: Word .doc or .docx only. 
  4. Please do not use special characters in your filename such as: ! @ # $ % ^ */ .
  5. In the cover letter section, please include an author’s biography of up to 60 words and your association with northern New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont).
  6. There are no reading fees for submissions at this time. We do accept simultaneous submissions, but we ask to be notified immediately if the work you’ve submitted has been accepted elsewhere.
  7. The Northern New England Review acquires First North American Serial Rights for each poem accepted for publication, after which all copyrights revert back to the author. We do ask to be acknowledged in any future re-printings or publications. Unfortunately, we unable to offer payment at this time but each author whose work is selected to appear in The Northern New England Review will receive one complementary printed copy of the issue in which their work appears.  
  8.  We will accept submissions until January 1, 2020. We endeavor to review and respond to submissions as soon as possible, but please note that our response time may be up to three months from the date of the submission.
  9. All contributors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by March 1, 2020.  




Ends on

NNER, now in its 40th year, is published by Franklin Pierce University as a creative voice for the Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine region. If you live here, are from here, lost or found your heart here, or are currently searching for it among the dappled forests and ghostly coasts, we want to read your words. Our Volume 40 theme, Almanac, will celebrate our fortieth edition—celebrating our rich publishing legacy by gazing forward (& skyward). Send us your star odes, tide tables, sonnets to soil & thorns, & moss chronicles. We like work that is delicately crafted, viscerally felt, & feverishly imaginative.  

Fiction Guidelines:

1. We value short fiction that innovates and experiments—imagery that provokes and astonishes. We want to see the extraordinary hidden within the mundane. We are looking for distinctive stories that make fault lines tremble and explore nested realities. We are excited by the peculiar, the wondrous, and the profound. We do not want writing that performs. Send us a short story with a beating heart.

2. You may submit an original and previously unpublished work of short fiction during each submission period. Each short fiction submission should be no longer than 2,000 words in length (approx). 

3. Please include an author’s biography of up to 60 words and your association with northern New England in the cover letter section of your entry. 

4. There are no reading fees for submissions at this time. We do accept simultaneous submissions, but we ask to be notified immediately if the work you’ve submitted has been accepted elsewhere.

5. Submissions will be accepted as a Word .doc or ,docx only. Do not use special characters in your filename such as: ! @ # $ % ^ */ . Please include your contact information in your file.

6. The Northern New England Review acquires First North American Serial Rights for each piece of short fiction accepted for publication, after which all copyrights revert back to the author. We do ask to be acknowledged in any future re-printings or publications. We are unable to offer payment at this time, but each author whose work is selected to appear in The Northern New England Review will receive one complementary printed copy of the issue in which their work appears.

7. We will accept submissions until January 1, 2020.

8. All contributors will be notified by March 2020. 

Northern New England Review (NNER) is a literary journal published by Franklin Pierce University as a creative voice for the Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine region. If you live here, are from here, lost or found your heart here, or are currently searching for it among the dappled forests and ghostly coasts, we want to read your words. Our Volume 40 theme, Almanac, will celebrate our fortieth edition—honoring our storied history by gazing forward (& skyward).  

Creative Nonfiction: Guidelines

1. We are seeking creative nonfiction that makes us stop and take note. We are looking for language-driven true stories, lyrical life writing, genre-blended memoirs, and braided experiments in storytelling. We want to read passages so arresting we cannot help but recite them aloud. We are looking for risks within the real and the reality within risks. We are looking for true stories that ask us to meditate and muse, but we are not in the market for overly analytical thinkpieces. Surprise us.    

2. You may submit an original and previously unpublished work of creative nonfiction during each submission period. Each nonfiction submission should be no more than 2,000 words in length. 

3. In the cover letter section, please include an author’s biography of up to 60 words and your association with Northern New England (Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire).

4. There are no reading fees for submissions at this time. We do accept simultaneous submissions, but ask to be notified immediately if the work you’ve submitted has been accepted elsewhere.

5. Please submit your work via Submittable. Please write the title of your work in the title line. 

6. Please note we only accept .doc and .docx.

7. The Northern New England Review acquires First North American Serial Rights for each piece of creative nonfiction accepted for publication, after which all copyrights revert back to the author. We do ask to be acknowledged in any future re-printings or publications. We are unable to offer payment at this time, but each author whose work is selected to appear in The Northern New England Review will receive one complementary printed copy of the issue in which their work appears.

8. We will accept submissions until January 1, 2020. 

9. All contributors will be notified by March 1, 2020. 


Northern New England Review (NNER) is a literary journal devoted to and inspired by place—place as an idea, an incantation, a pin in a map, a mood, the tension between past & present. NNER, now in its 40th year, is published by Franklin Pierce University as a creative voice for the Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine region. Our Volume 40 theme, Almanac, will celebrate our fortieth edition—honoring our storied history by gazing forward (& skyward). Please interpret Almanac however you like; play with notions of forecasts, fortunes, & predictions. Tear up the star chart & sketch a new one. Surprise & haunt us with your cryptic calendars, mirrors, or spellbooks. In our digital moment, how much mystery can (& should) remain as we visualize & plan the future? 

Please submit one high-resolution image for the editorial team to consider. We do not offer payment at this time, but, if selected, we provide five contributor copies of NNER, and your work will be available at every public library in New Hampshire and more than 200 locations across northern New England. All artists will be notified of the final selection in March 2020. 

Thank you!

—NNER Vol 40 Editors

There’s nothing common about common ravens. They play tricks and outsmart humans. They hide in plain sight, inventing new escape routes. From Poe to Norse mythology, the raven has ignited the imagination. It is in this spirit of wily agility, magic within the mundane, and killer insight that Franklin Pierce University hosts the inaugural Northern New England Review Raven Prize in Creative Nonfiction, celebrating true stories imaginatively told. Judge: TBA. The first-place author will receive a $500 award for one outstanding original work of creative nonfiction. The wining story will be published in Northern New England Review Issue 40: Almanac.


Contest Submission Guidelines:
1. Submission deadline: January 1, 2020.
2. We will only consider work previously unpublished in print or online.
3. There is no fee for contest submission.  
4. Simultaneous submissions are also accepted; however, we must be notified immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere.
5. Writers currently residing in the United States are eligible. Writers should have a meaningful connection to Maine, Vermont, or New Hamphshire.
6. Submissions will be accepted via Submittable only.  
7. We will accept work up to 2,500 words (maximum).
8. All submissions should use a 12 pt font and standard typeface (not Comic Sans or Impact, etc.). 

9. In the cover letter please include your 60-word approx bio and your association to Northern New England. The author's name should not appear anywhere on the actual entry file.  

10. The work should honor the spirit of the raven in that it is a true story that is surprisingly and imaginatively told.  

11. You may only enter one work per reading period.
12. All entrants will be notified by the end of March 2020.
 

 




Northern New England Review